Universitat Rovira i Virgili

Government body and consultants

Management Team

· · ·

Academic coordinator

The head of the program works under the direction of the dean of the school/faculty in which the course is taught and is in charge of academic programming, coordinating the materials and human resources needed to deliver related courses, monitoring the quality and the improvement plans of these courses, and formulating the corresponding proposals. The number of heads of the programs in the ETSE is five, this number being set by the Governing Council for each school or faculty.

· · ·

Academic coordinator

In addition to these statutory bodies, the centre has a series of Masters' coordinators. These individuals work in conjunction with the management team and are responsible for academic programming, coordinating the material and human resources needed to deliver one or more Masters' programmes. The ETSE Masters' coordinators are:

· · ·

School Council

Specific functions

The School Council is the governing body of the School of Engineering. It is a statutory body and has, among others, the following specific functions:


The regulation of ETSI, in its Article 5 states:

  1. The School Council consists of 50 members.
  2. The School Council is comprised of the following:
    • a) The director of the center, the assistant director, in charge of education and secretary.
    • b) The heads of department who are responsible for a teaching equivalent to at least a third of the total burden of some of the teachings ascribed to the ETSE.
    • c) Representatives of 31 members of the teaching and research linked to the center, including ex officio members provided in paragraphs a) and b), elected by this group and between this. This representation includes:
      - 26 faculty members with permanent links;
      - 5 faculty members with no permanent ties
    • d) In the case of not having enough candidates among teachers with no permanent ties vacancies may be filled by candidates of teachers permanently linked doctor by this group and between it.
    • e) Representatives of 13 students at a rate of one for each of the teachings ascribed to the center, and the rest to complete the total at the rate of one for each additional education according to the largest number of students enrolled chosen by this group and between them. In the case of endangered lessons, students will be grouped with these new teachings related subjects.
    • f) A representative of six members of the administrative and services staff at the center, elected by this group and between this.
  3. Eligible members of the School Council are renewed every four years, except for students, who are each two, notwithstanding the possibility of other elections to fill vacancies.
· · ·


Validations and Adaptations Committee

This committee is referred to by article 121.3 of the URV's Statute. The School Council approved its constitution by the heads of the program. Its function is to review applications for recognition and to make the necessary recommendations to the director of the School, who makes any final decisions in accordance with article 121.2 of the Statute.

School's Electoral Committee

The School's Electoral Committee is in charge of organizing, controlling and publishing the results of the electoral processes that affect the School and the Department of Computer Engineering and Mathematics and the Department of Electronic, Electrical and Automatic Engineering. The committee is regulated by article 14 of the Electoral Regulations of the URV. Its composition is as follows: the director or designated assistant director, the secretary of the School, and a representative each of the teaching staff, students and administrative and services staff, all designated by the School Council.

Quality and Strategic Planning Committee

The Quality and Strategic Planning Committee is made up of the School's management team, master coordinators, the management support officer and the teaching quality officer, the directors from both the Department of Electronic, Electrical and Automatic Engineering and the Department of Computer Engineering and Mathematics, and a student. The committee is responsible for promoting the implementation of the School's Quality Management System and the creation of teams to handle the results of any reviews and assessments carried out. It also establishes who will participate in the planning and monitoring of the Quality Management System, and also acts as one of the internal means for communicating the system's policies, objectives, plans, programmes, responsibilities and achievements. The commission is responsible for designing the actions and indicators of the strategic plan, monitoring the actions taken and evaluating the results obtained.

Consultant Bodies

Teaching Council

The Teaching Council is one of the new bodies created as a result of the URV's new Statute. In accordance with article 92 of this Statute and article 28 of the School's Regulations, the Teaching Council is to assist the head of the program in fulfilling their functions and is made up of all the School's full time teaching staff.

Assessment Council

The Assessment Council is the School's consultant body and is referred to in article 93 of the URV's new Statute. In accordance with article 29 of the School's Regulations, there is only one assessment council for all the courses, and it is made up of physical and legal persons from outside the University and linked to the courses taught at the School. Its principal task is to work to bring the School's study plans and the students' abilities in line with those required by the labour market.

The School tries to ensure that this council is made of notable people from all the ambits related to its qualifications so that they can contribute their experience and knowledge of the world of work.

Currently, Council members are, Carles Rovira of the Associació d'Empreses de Serveis de Tarragona, Carlos Zaplana of T-Systems, Daniel Reseco of Roche, David Gámez of Lear, Emili Anglès of Kellogg, Eva Martí Pi of the Associació Nuclear Ascó Vandellós II, Sergi Novo of the Clúster TIC Catalunya Sud, Hugo Padilla of CISCO, Joan Enric Carreres of the Consell Social of the URV, José Manuel Barrios of IDIADA, Josep Boqué of Medtronic and Pere Marc Franquet of Essity. On behalf of the School, the ETSE Management Team and degree and double degree coordinators.