Universitat Rovira i Virgili



Management Team


Xavier Vilanova
Dr. Xavier Vilanova Salas   Contact
The Dean is appointed by the Rector of the University at the proposal of the School Council and represents, leads and manages the School with the assistance of his/her management team. Article 75 specifies all of the Dean's functions.

Vice Dean

Antonio Moreno
Dr. Antonio Molina Ribas   Contact
The Vice Dean carries out the functions with which he is charged by the dean and, in the event of the dean's absence, will temporarily assume his/her functions.


Carme Olivé
Dra. Carme Olivé Farré   Contact
The secretary is responsible for writing and keeping the minutes of the School Council and for issuing certificates of the agreements that are approved by the School and the certificates required for the administration of the School.

Heads of the programs

The head of the program works under the direction of the dean of the school/faculty in which the course is taught and is in charge of academic programming, coordinating the materials and human resources needed to deliver related courses, monitoring the quality and the improvement plans of these courses, and formulating the corresponding proposals. The number of heads of the programs in the ETSE is five, this number being set by the Governing Council for each school or faculty.

Francesc Xavier Correig Degree in Biomedical Engineering - GEB
Dr. Francesc Xavier Correig   Contact

Àngel Cid Degree in Industrial Electronics and Automation Engineering - GEEIiA
Dr. Àngel Cid Pastor   Contact

Francisco González Degree in Electrical Engineering - GEE
Double degree in Electrical Engineering and Electronic, Industrial and Automatic Engineering
Dr. Francisco González Molina   Contact

David Girbau Sala Degree in Telecommunication Systems and Services Engineering - GESST
Dr. David Girbau Sala   Contact

Luis Alexandre Viejo Degree in Computer Engineering - GEI
Degree in Techniques for Developing Web and Mobile Applications - GTDAWIM
Double degree in Biotechnology and Computer Engineering
Dr. Luis Alexandre Viejo   Contact

Masters' Coordinators

In addition to these statutory bodies, the centre has a series of Masters' coordinators. These individuals work in conjunction with the management team and are responsible for academic programming, coordinating the material and human resources needed to deliver one or more Masters' programmes. The ETSE Masters' coordinators are:

Master's Degree in Electrical Vehicle Technologies - MEVTECH
Hugo Valderrama Blaví   Contact

Master's Degree in Artificial Intelligence - MIA
David Riaño Ramos   Contact

Master's Degree in Security of the Information and Communication Technologies - MISTIC
Francesc Serratosa Casanelles   Contact

Master's Degree in Computer Engineering and Mathematics - MECMAT
Juan Alberto Rodríguez   Contact

Master's Degree in Industrial Engineering - MEI
Lluis Guasch Pesquer   Contact

Master's Degree in Computer Engineering: Computer Security and Intelligent Systems - MEISISI (In extinction)
Susana Álvarez Fernández   Contact

Master's Degree in Computer Security Engineering and Artificial Intelligence - MESIIA
Susana Álvarez Fernández   Contact

Master's Degree in Electronic Systems Engineering and Technology - METSE
Eduard Llobet Valero   Contact

School Council

Specific functions



Validations and Adaptations Committee

This committee is referred to by article 121.3 of the URV's Statute. The School Council approved its constitution by the four first and second cycle head of the program. Its function is to review applications for validations and adaptations and to make the necessary recommendations to the director of the School, who makes any final decisions in accordance with article 121.2 of the Statute.

School's Electoral Committee

The School's Electoral Committee is in charge of organizing, controlling and publishing the results of the electoral processes that affect the School and the Department of Computer Engineering and Mathematics and the Department of Electronic, Electrical and Automatic Engineering. The committee is regulated by article 14 of the Electoral Regulations of the URV. Its composition is as follows: the director or designated assistant director, the secretary of the School, and a representative each of the teaching staff, students and administrative and services staff, all designated by the School Council.

Quality and Strategic Planning Committee

The Quality and Strategic Planning Committee is made up of the School's management team, the management support officer and the teaching quality officer, a member of the teaching staff from both the Department of Electronic, Electrical and Automatic Engineering and the Department of Computer Engineering and Mathematics, and a student. The committee is responsible for promoting the implementation of the School's Quality Management System and the creation of teams to handle the results of any reviews and assessments carried out. It also establishes who will participate in the planning and monitoring of the Quality Management System, and also acts as one of the internal means for communicating the system's policies, objectives, plans, programmes, responsibilities and achievements. The commission is responsible for designing the actions and indicators of the strategic plan, monitoring the actions taken and evaluating the results obtained.

Consultant Bodies

Teaching Council

The Teaching Council is one of the new bodies created as a result of the URV's new Statute. In accordance with article 92 of this Statute and article 28 of the School's Regulations, the Teaching Council is to assist the head of the program in fulfilling their functions and is made up of all the School's full time teaching staff. The School's Regulations state that there will be 4 Teaching Councils:

  • - The Teaching Council of GEEIiA
  • - The Teaching Council of GEE
  • - The Teaching Council of GET
  • - The Teaching Council of GEI

Assessment Council

The Assessment Council is the School's consultant body and is referred to in article 93 of the URV's new Statute. In accordance with article 29 of the School's Regulations, there is only one assessment council for all the courses, and it is made up of physical and legal persons from outside the University and linked to the courses taught at the School. Its principal task is to work to bring the School's study plans and the students' abilities in line with those required by the labour market.

The School tries to ensure that this council is made of notable people from all the ambits related to its qualifications so that they can contribute their experience and knowledge of the world of work.

Currently, are membres of the Council, José Manuel Barrios of IDIADA, Josep Boqué of Boston Scientific, Joan Enric Carreres of the Consell Social of the URV, Gabriel Domènec of the Clúster TIC Catalunya Sud, Manuel Gutiérrez of T-Systems, David Gámez of Lear, Elías García of the Associació Nuclear Ascó Vandellós, Robert Marquès of Near Consulting, Hugo Padilla of CISCO, Daniel Reseco of Grupo Castilla, Carles Rovira of the Associació d'Empreses de Serveis de Tarragona. The members of the School are, Xavier Vilanova, Toni Moreno, Carme Olivé, Àngel Cid, Xavier Correig, David Girbau, Francisco González and Àlex Viejo.

This website uses own and third party cookies to give you the best experience when you visit our website.
By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. More information